top of page

I was pleasantly surprised...

One fine day, my dad decided to get a new car as the one he is driving has become too weak after spending years on the bumpy roads. Unlike the earlier era, my dad could not make a decision on the model. In the older times, all middle class dads had only one prerequisite - mileage and the only answer was the half desi Maruti.


But now, my dad wants to enjoy his retired life driving a more powerful and bigger car than the one he has got. There are so many options in the market and he decided to go to various dealerships to understand the various offerings.


So we went to a dealership and we were told to wait for a representative to give us the details. Soon, a lady approached and asked about our requirements on the car. I was pleasantly surprised to see lady representatives in a dealership as this used to a man's terrain. Once we zeroed in on a model, she explained the various variants available and the features that comes with those. Anyways, she gave us details of some 12 variants and I was already lost as she moved to the third variant. Yet, I still could not come into terms with finding a lady representative. After a while, my dad asked her something about insurance for which she replied him. He was not convinced and was questioning her between 2 types of (I really have no clue) insurances. She was doing pretty well till then, but I felt like she wasn't ready for that. She lost her confidence. On the way back, I expressed my disappointment to my dad. Anyways he didn't bother.


The same day we went to another dealership and here, we were greeted by a male representative. He was throwing all the car jargons at us and my dad was evidently impressed. He did not have any questions other than a possible date for a test drive. Earlier, he scared the representative here he did not have anything in store for the car jargons.


Now fast forward, my husband have been nursing the idea of getting a car and we went to a dealership. Here, we were greeted by a lady representative and I had a feeling my husband will butcher her with his techie questions as he had done quite a bit of research about various models. To my surprise, the lady was quite well versed and she explained things in a way a layman (here me) could understand and most importantly differentiate among variants. She did not use any car jargons like AMT, DCT, ABS,ORVM turbo, EBD, ESP (I googled all these terms) etc. She explained things in the most simplest way, which instilled admiration towards her. I specifically admired her calibre to understand the needs and help people make decisions with her simplistic approach. We hear women should be given the chance to prove their mettle in fields which are otherwise known for being a man's turf as women might have a varied approach. This instance validates the argument.


On the way back, I asked my husband, "Why do they have so many variants? They should have only 3 so that it reduces the confusion". My husband replied, "People have so many requirements".

Really, he doesn't have a clue what is it to be a woman. What does he know about the process we go through to pick a skincare product suitable for our skintype?










aswathy.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Dive in..

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page