top of page

I wonder what drives them?

Need, want and desire are three powerful things that drive humanity. While needs are basic human necessities, wants and desires tend to make us ambitious and accomplish great feats in life.


More the merrier has become our life's motto. More food, more liquor, more money, more recognition, more power, more more and more...Really, how much more is enough?


I wonder how many of us can make a shopping list and stick to the list. I know I cannot. There will be always something which I miss out on or rather something which is not a necessity but could be nice little addition. In the process, I hoard unnecessary things which often ends up in the trash after expiry.


During one of my binge-watching youtube sessions, I stumbled on a vlog about people living in extreme conditions like in the middle of a desert or high up in the mountains in a village that cannot be located on google map. Seeing the tough life they lead, I felt to be a part of the privileged to live in luxury when compared to them.


But, if you look further at their lives, without the luxury and sophistication of modern-day like internet, cell phone, television or even electricity, they live without qualms.


Another striking characteristic was, even if these people are striving to make ends meet on a daily basis, they welcome guests with open arms. They are more than happy to host you and acquaint you with their proud culture.


Without the hunger for more, I wonder what drives them? Survival, maybe...


'Necessity is the mother of invention' - I guess this proves to be correct with these ordinary people who make a living in such extraordinary circumstances.


aswathy.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Dive in..

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page