top of page

It Sets Me Free…


Source: rudrauniverse.com


“Why do you write?”, someone popped this question at me a few days back. I faced the question in all its earnestness. I assumed he didn’t mean anything else like “Why do you do this shit every weekend and populate my social media feeds with your posts?” or “What are you trying to do with the 2 min long stuff you put together every weekend?” or “Are you crazy?”


When I was encountered with this question, without any delay I said, “Because I love it.” Wow… I was amazed by my spontaneity. This would be among the rarest of occasions where I had 100% conviction about something. This comes as an achievement as I was completely sure about it, was crystal clear about my interest and didn’t fear judgements.


Adulthood forces us to play by the rules of society, to be conventional and be mature in a way acceptable to the social norms. I have learnt to follow the rules and use as many filters as possible while expressing opinions to be acceptable by the society. Despite all my cautions, I do fail at times miserably and I am seriously considering the art of silence to help me to prevent such mishaps.


Anyways, I have realized I enjoy writing and everything involved in the process. After publishing a post, I will be on the quest for ideas which will be contemplated throughout the week. Once I zero down one topic, I look forward to the weekend to bring my thoughts to the world.


Not an avid reader, I have to depend on very limited, normal, not so exciting things happening around me to write. I have become more mindful of the little world around, which to my surprise gives me countless opportunities to experiment. Unknowingly my thoughts became clearer, perspectives changed and writing evolved.


This is true in every creative endeavour I believe. You start somewhere, learn from mistakes, get out of your comfort zone, experiment and liberate yourself.


So, my dear friend I write because IT SETS ME FREE…

aswathy.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Dive in..

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page