top of page

Swirl, Sip and Savour


Image credits: unsobered.com


The September rain has been doing its job pretty well till now and the worries around rain shortage are long gone. The siblings Ved and Veda were sitting on the front porch sipping tea. The duo hardly spent more than a week together since both got busy with their studies and work and are thoroughly enjoying their time together, Thanks to work from home policy.

In the garden, they could see their mother carefully inspecting each of her darling plants to check if there were any damages caused by the rain. From her facial expression, it did not seem much damage was done by the rain. Veda got amused by seeing the way her mom caressed the plants and started to giggle. Seeing his sister’s reaction, Ved signalled her to keep quiet while he recorded her mom’s actions on the phone with a plan to tease her later on.

Veda saw the video recording and was quite satisfied the way it turned out. “I wish life was so simple and fun Ved.”

Ved enquired, “Having a hard time at job?”

Veda replied, “Well, the work is getting hectic you know. And I had told you about the course I want to do. I am struggling to strike a balance. I am not sure if I can do justice to both. Plus, with the problems we face every day, I don’t know how people remain sane. Adulting is scary!

Meanwhile, their father joined their mom in the garden. Seeing him she said, “See I did tell you, this moderate rainfall spread over some time is good for the earth when compared to a heavy downpour that takes away the topsoil along. Now even if it doesn’t rain for two day also, I won’t have to water my plants. Look how lively they are”, pointing to the plants.

Their father replied, “Well, I think this rain is expected to continue for some more days. At least that’s what I saw in the news”.

Ved said, “I think Mum has a point”. Veda asked, “What do you mean?”

Ved understood she did not quite get what their mom meant. He asked, “Well. Remember the last time you partied with your friends? U had a little too much to drink than usual. You puked your intestine out and were a mess for the next two days?”

Veda replied, “Well at least I had a lot of fun. Our gang met after a long time after college and it was cool. But I drink occasionally and there were never any problems”

Ved clarified, “Only difference is this time around you let the vodka have fun. When you maintain a threshold for everything, things will be fine. When you go over-board, things start falling apart. I mean to say, you should be concerned about things that matter. But whatever good or bad, too much of anything is about to leave you drained. You don’t let your problems have fun with you.”

By this time, their mom had finished her routine in the garden and noticed both siblings conversing. Veda was scared if mom had listened to their conversation. Her parents had no clue about the party.

Their Mom stood in front of them and shouted, “Both of you stink! I don’t want any excuses today. Don’t dare to blame the rain for not taking a bath again. Get yourself washed up, else no dinner!”. Relieved, both ran to their rooms.

aswathy.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Dive in..

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page